Genshin Impact is a popular action role-playing game developed and published by Hoyoverse. With its diverse character selection and character building, new players will be confused about building their favorite character. Before divining into how to build a certain character it is important to know the terminology used when building a character. As my initial post, this will be a beginner’s guide on teaching you the basics of a character for Genshin Impact.


Characters in Genshin Impact come in 2 rarities. They either are a 4-star or 5-star character. In most cases, 5-star characters will have a better kit/stats/usability compared to a 4-star character. Despite this, there are a lot of usable “meta” 4-star characters, and building a 4-star character is completely viable and will get you through all the content in this game. To obtain characters you will have to go to the character wishing screen which will have a limited character banner, a limited weapon banner, and a standard banner. The limited banners will have a featured 5-star with boosted rates where the limited character and weapons will not be obtainable after the banner duration ends. The standard banner will contain characters and weapons that will always be available for you to obtain.


Each character in Genshin Impact has an attribute associated with it. The available attributes are:

  • Pyro
  • Cryo
  • Electro
  • Hydro
  • Anemo
  • Geo
  • Dendro

Attributes don’t play a big part in character building and are most important when you are constructing your party. Unless you are going for an elemental reaction (I will not get into elemental reactions in this post as it will require a deeper dive on this topic) centric build.


Stats is the biggest part of character building. The better the stats of your character the more damage/tanking/healing your character will be able to do. In Genshin Impact, you have 4 base stats:

  • HP
  • ATK
  • DEF
  • Elemental Mastery

You also have 4 advanced stats:

  • Crit Rate
  • Crit DMG
  • Healing Bonus
  • Energy Recharge

Every character will have a base stat they scale off of, and may determine the role of that character depending on the stat.


Weapons come with a rarity. The highest being a 5-star weapon and the lowest being a 1-star weapon. The higher the rarity the better effect and stats the weapon will give. Each weapon will have a sub-stat that can give a boost to one of your advanced or basic stats. In most cases, a new 5-star weapon will release with its respective 5-star character.


Artifacts are where the bulk of your damage will come from. It will be the main source of how strong your characters may be. There are 5 artifacts a character can equip:

  • Sands (timepiece)
  • Goblet (cup)
  • Circlet
  • Plume (feather)
  • Flower

Aside from the flower and feather, each artifact will have a random main stat and random sub-stats. Each of those 3 artifacts can get a unique main stat that the other artifacts are not able to get. The goblet can get elemental damage or physical damage as its main stat, the timepiece is able to get energy recharge as its main stat and for circlets, you are able to get Crit Rate, Crit DMG, or Healing bonus as the main stat. What stats to focus on will be entirely dependent on the role of the character and what they scale off of. Similar to the weapons will have rarities from 1 – 5 stars. It is advised to only start farming for artifacts once you have reached AR (Adventure Rank) 45 as this will guarantee you to obtain a 5 – star artifact.


Constellations provide the character with more usability. The max amount of constellation a character can have is up to 6. With each constellation obtained, it will further strengthen the character and or provide more usefulness to its kit. Constellations can only be obtained by obtaining duplicate copies of a character from the character’s wishes.


You have 3 forms of talents you can upgrade. Your normal attack, elemental skill, and elemental burst. The max level without constellations a character talent can have is 10. With constellations, it can go up to 13. The higher the level of the skill or burst, the more damage and or effectiveness the skill will become. The order and talent priority its completely dependent on the character and their kit.


Mike Hawk · September 24, 2022 at 9:08 pm

Wow! This guide was really helpful! I have been wanting to start Genshin Impact but it was very daunting with how much goes on in the game. After reading this guide, I can understand how the system works and I am more confident on my journey through the game.

Michael Wang · September 29, 2022 at 4:09 am

Very intriguing! I play Geshin Impact and this guide was helpful to me! My favourite character is Klee, love her very much!

Daboki · October 6, 2022 at 12:23 pm

Hey there!

The names Daboki and I really found this article very helpful as a beginner!

Coming from a Maple Story background, Genshin Impact was hard to get used. But alas this guide prove to be quite helpful especially the stats breakdown (similar to Maple Story!), How Constellations work, and the complex Talent system.

I hope one day I can be on the same god level as yourself and create content on my Youtube channel!

Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *